Top10SV

Best Cloud Storage (2026)

Ten consumer cloud-storage services ranked on published evidence: price transparency and its unit, capacity, the encryption model, independent verification, version history, data region and refund window.

10products ranked
10comparison criteria
10published reviews

Facts sourced and dated · Updated Sep 6, 2026 · See score weights

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site. It never changes a product's score. How we make money

The shortlist

Compare at a Glance

10 of 10 products · Select a column to sort

Explore
Sync.com
End-to-end encryption as the default, not an add-on
#16.8
$3.50/monthYes1,000 GB90 daysSee details
pCloud
Swiss provider with a user-chosen data region
#26.3
$49.99/year500 GB30 daysSee details
IDrive Personal
Backup-oriented storage at the lowest price per terabyte
#35.5
$0.83/month5,000 GBSee details
Proton Drive
The strongest published privacy model in the category
#45.2
FreeYes200 GBSee details
Koofr
Small European provider with a genuinely useful free tier
#55.0
€2/month100 GB30 daysSee details
Internxt
Post-quantum encryption claim with a named auditor
#64.7
FreeYes1,000 GBSee details
Dropbox Plus
The default sync client, with compliance paperwork rivals do not publish
#74.2
See pricingNo2,000 GB30 daysSee details
Backblaze Personal Backup
Unlimited capacity, priced per computer instead of per terabyte
#83.8
$99/year30 daysSee details
Microsoft 365 Personal (OneDrive)
Storage bundled with the Office applications
#93.4
$99.99/year1,000 GBSee details
Box Personal Pro
Consumer entry point to an enterprise content platform
#102.6
See pricing100 GBSee details
— means the source does not state the value. Prices are recorded observations, not live quotes. Price sorting groups matching currencies and billing terms. Positions follow the recorded ranking score, highest first. Unknown scores are last; equal scores keep their stored order. Table filters do not renumber the list.

The Picks, in Detail

#1

Sync.com

Official Sync.com visual from the vendor website
6.8 / 10

5 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

End-to-end encryption as the default, not an add-on

1 TB of end-to-end encrypted storage for $6 a month with 90 days of file history.

Holds up
  • + End-to-end encryption applies to every personal plan rather than being sold as an add-on
  • + File history runs to 90 days on the 1 TB plan and 180 days on 5 TB
  • + Annual totals are printed alongside the monthly figure ($42, $72, $168)
Weigh up
  • Neither the pricing page nor the privacy policy names the country where files are stored
  • The word "zero-knowledge" is not used, only that the customer alone can decrypt content
  • Sync can still see IP address and access-time metadata
End-to-end encryption
Yes
Storage at the compared tier
1,000 GB
#2

pCloud

pCloud Drive product visual from the official pCloud download page
6.3 / 10

6 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Swiss provider with a user-chosen data region

500 GB for $49.99 a year with a choice of European or US data region and an optional zero-knowledge layer.

Holds up
  • + The data region is a customer choice between Europe and the USA, stated up front
  • + $49.99 a year for 500 GB is the cheapest published per-account annual price of the consumer plans here
  • + Client-side, zero-knowledge encryption is available as an explicit add-on
Weigh up
  • Zero-knowledge encryption is not part of the base plans and its price is not published on the page
  • Download-link traffic is capped, and the 10 TB plan still only carries 2 TB of it
  • The 14-day refund window is the shortest here
End-to-end encryption
Storage at the compared tier
500 GB
#3

IDrive Personal

IDrive Windows application showing the selected backup set and Backup Now controls
5.5 / 10

5 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Backup-oriented storage at the lowest price per terabyte

5 TB for $6.99 in the first year against a $9.99 regular price — the cheapest terabyte here.

Holds up
  • + The lowest price per terabyte in this category: 5 TB for $6.99 a month in the first year
  • + The regular price is printed next to the promotional one on every tier
  • + Capacities run to 100 TB without moving to a business contract
Weigh up
  • The pricing page states no version-history length
  • Private-key encryption is not stated on this page, so end-to-end protection is unverified
  • No money-back guarantee is published
End-to-end encryption
Storage at the compared tier
5,000 GB
#4

Proton Drive

Proton Drive document editor supplied in its official media kit
5.2 / 10

7 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

The strongest published privacy model in the category

End-to-end encrypted storage — including file names — from a Swiss provider with audited, open-source apps.

Holds up
  • + File names as well as file contents are encrypted on the device before upload
  • + The apps are open source and independently audited, so the encryption claim can be checked
  • + Swiss jurisdiction, explicitly outside US and UK reach
Weigh up
  • No price is present on the pricing page: the figures load from a pricing component
  • The free tier is 5 GB, smaller than Koofr's 10 GB
  • The cheapest paid tier is 200 GB, so there is no small, cheap step
End-to-end encryption
Yes
Storage at the compared tier
200 GB
#5

Koofr

Official Koofr visual from the vendor website
5.0 / 10

7 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Small European provider with a genuinely useful free tier

A 10 GB free tier and yearly-only paid plans that start at €2 a month for 100 GB.

Holds up
  • + A 10 GB free tier, larger than most free tiers here
  • + Prices already include VAT, so the figure shown is the figure paid in the EU
  • + Connections to external clouds (9 to 30 by plan) let one account front several services
Weigh up
  • Only yearly subscriptions are available, with no month-to-month option
  • The pricing page names neither the data-centre location nor a jurisdiction
  • Encryption is limited to Vault safe boxes rather than the whole account
End-to-end encryption
Storage at the compared tier
100 GB
#6

Internxt

Official Internxt visual from the vendor website
4.7 / 10

4 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Post-quantum encryption claim with a named auditor

Zero-knowledge and post-quantum encryption from a GDPR-based provider, audited by Securitum.

Holds up
  • + Zero-knowledge encryption is the default on every plan, not an add-on
  • + The auditor is named (Securitum), so the claim can be checked
  • + Linux, Windows, macOS, Android, iOS and web clients
Weigh up
  • No price is present on the pricing page: every figure renders as a €0 placeholder
  • The free tier is only 1 GB
  • No version-history length is published
End-to-end encryption
Yes
Storage at the compared tier
1,000 GB
#7

Dropbox Plus

Official Dropbox Plus visual from the vendor website
4.2 / 10

5 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

The default sync client, with compliance paperwork rivals do not publish

2 TB with 30 days of file recovery and published SOC and GDPR compliance, at $9.99 a month.

Holds up
  • + Publishes SOC 1/2/3, GDPR and HIPAA support, which most consumer rivals here do not
  • + Dropbox Rewind can roll an entire folder or account back after a ransomware event
  • + Transfers up to 50 GB and unlimited linked devices
Weigh up
  • No client-side encryption: Dropbox holds the keys to the files at rest
  • $9.99 a month for 2 TB is roughly double the per-terabyte price of the cheapest providers here
  • No yearly price is published on the plans page, so the annual discount is unknown
End-to-end encryption
No
Storage at the compared tier
2,000 GB
#8

Backblaze Personal Backup

Backblaze Windows control panel shown in the official settings guide
3.8 / 10

6 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Unlimited capacity, priced per computer instead of per terabyte

Unlimited backup for one computer at $99 a year, with a free mailed hard-drive restore.

Holds up
  • + Capacity is unlimited, so a large photo or video library costs the same as a small one
  • + A private encryption key is offered, which makes the account effectively zero-knowledge
  • + Free mailed hard-drive restore, which matters when recovering terabytes
Weigh up
  • Priced per computer, so a household with three machines pays three times
  • Only Windows and macOS clients; no Linux, Android or iOS backup
  • The standard version-retention length is not stated; "forever" costs extra
End-to-end encryption
Storage at the compared tier
#9

Microsoft 365 Personal (OneDrive)

Microsoft 365 Personal product visual from the official Microsoft Store
3.4 / 10

6 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Storage bundled with the Office applications

1 TB of OneDrive plus the desktop Office apps for $99.99 a year — or 6 TB across six people for $129.99.

Holds up
  • + The Family plan divides to about $21.67 per person per year for 1 TB each, the cheapest per-person terabyte here
  • + The desktop Office applications are included, so the storage is effectively a by-product
  • + Both monthly and yearly prices are published for every tier
Weigh up
  • Storage cannot be bought without the application bundle
  • The comparison page states no encryption model, version history or data region
  • 1 TB per person is a hard ceiling; there is no larger consumer tier
End-to-end encryption
Storage at the compared tier
1,000 GB
#10

Box Personal Pro

Box personal cloud storage promotional interface visual
2.6 / 10

5 source documents

Sep 5, 2026

Consumer entry point to an enterprise content platform

100 GB with a 5 GB file-size limit and built-in Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace integration.

Holds up
  • + A 10 GB free tier with two-factor authentication included
  • + Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace integrations are built in rather than bolted on
  • + The 5 GB upload limit on Personal Pro suits large design and video files
Weigh up
  • The Personal Pro price is not present in the pricing page as served
  • 100 GB is small next to rivals charging similar money for terabytes
  • The page states no encryption model, data region or money-back policy
End-to-end encryption
Storage at the compared tier
100 GB
Methodology

How We Chose

Scores are calculated from the facts published on each provider's own plan or security page, using the same checklist for every product:

  • Price transparency (0-2) — is a price published on the plan page at all, and is the unit (per account, per person, per computer) clear? A provider whose figures render only in a store component scores lowest.
  • Capacity for the money (0-1.5) — storage per dollar at the compared tier, or unlimited capacity.
  • Encryption model (0-2.5) — end-to-end or zero-knowledge encryption by default scores highest, an optional client-side layer next, server-side encryption alone lowest. Encrypting file names as well as contents scores above encrypting contents alone.
  • Independent verification (0-1) — a named auditor, a published certification (SOC, ISO) or an open-source client.
  • Version history and recovery (0-1.5) — how far back a file can be restored, and whether a bulk restore path exists.
  • Jurisdiction and data region (0-1) — whether the provider states where files are stored and under which law.
  • Refund window (0-0.5) — the money-back period the provider states.

Points are lost for facts a provider does not publish. We did not measure upload or download speed: this is a documentation-based comparison of what you can verify before you pay, and every claim links to the page it came from.

Features
30%
Value
20%
Editorial
30%
Popularity
10%
Confidence
10%

Weight source: global. Read the methodology →

Before you decide

Common Questions

Compare two products →

See each published review for its source list. Missing facts are never guessed.