Summary
Koofr Review (2026): The Price, the Encryption Model and How Far Back You Can Recover
A 10 GB free tier and yearly-only paid plans that start at €2 a month for 100 GB.
This review is documentation-based: every figure was read on Koofr's own pages on 2026-09-05. We did not measure upload or download speed.
Buying guide
Product and Plan Guidance
European provider selling small, cheap yearly storage tiers with an optional encrypted vault.
Choosing the Right Plan
Koofr separates a 10 GB free allowance from its paid capacity ladder. Paid subscriptions on the captured page are annual, even though the advertised rates are written per month. That combination is easy to misread if you compare only the large price number.
The page uses euros, not a confirmed US-dollar billing price. The Briefcase S rate was EUR0.50 per month, with yearly subscription terms; no annual invoice total was captured or calculated here. Check the named storage tier and any encrypted-vault requirements separately, rather than assuming that all account storage has identical features.
Official product and plan information (koofr.eu). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.
A closer look
Inside Koofr


At a glance
Pros and Cons
What we liked
- A 10 GB free tier, larger than most free tiers here
- Prices already include VAT, so the figure shown is the figure paid in the EU
- Connections to external clouds (9 to 30 by plan) let one account front several services
- The tier ladder is fine-grained, so capacity can be matched closely to need
What we did not
- Only yearly subscriptions are available, with no month-to-month option
- The pricing page names neither the data-centre location nor a jurisdiction
- Encryption is limited to Vault safe boxes rather than the whole account
- No money-back guarantee is stated
Community
User Reviews & Ratings
Customer feedback is separate from our editorial assessment and vendor documentation.
Trustpilot
4.3 / 5
97 ratings · Checked Sep 24, 2026 · checked by hand
View on Trustpilot
These are aggregate ratings published by third-party platforms, shown one source at a time and never combined into a single figure. They are not the Top10SV score and they do not affect our ranking, position or verdict.
Community Reviews
No original community posts are linked for this product yet.
Vendor documentation is not customer feedback.
Pricing
Koofr Pricing
Prices use the recorded currency and billing period. Monthly equivalents appear only when recorded; these are not live quotes.
Briefcase L 100 GB (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "€2.00" per month, billed yearly; 100 GB. All prices include 22% VAT and "Currently only yearly subscriptions are possible".
€2/month
€2 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Suitcase XL 250 GB (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "€4.00" per month, billed yearly; 250 GB, VAT included.
€4/month
€4 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Suitcase XL+ 500 GB (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "€7.00" per month, billed yearly; 500 GB, VAT included.
€7/month
€7 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Suitcase XXL 1 TB (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "€10.00" per month, billed yearly; 1 TB, VAT included.
€10/month
€10 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Crate XXXL 2.5 TB (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "€20.00" per month, billed yearly; 2.5 TB, VAT included.
€20/month
€20 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026
Features
What You Get
- End-to-end encryptionNot verified
- Storage at the compared tier100 GB
Free 10 GB; paid tiers of 100 GB, 250 GB, 500 GB, 1 TB, 2.5 TB, 5 TB and 10 TB+, plus two smaller Briefcase tiers
- Version history30 days
File retention of 7 days on the free plan and 30 days on paid plans
- Independently audited or certifiedNot verified
- Data region statedEuropean Union (Germany)
Vendor identifies Germany as the location of data centres storing customer files. Data-centre certification is not represented as an independent product audit. Source: https://koofr.eu/help/privacy-and-safety-on-koofr/where-are-my-files-being-kept/ Observed 2026-09-11
- JurisdictionNot verified
- Free tier10 GB
"Free" plan with 10 GB
- Money-back windowNot verified
- Pricing unitper account
- PlatformsNot verified
Specifications
Key Facts
- Vendor
- Koofr
- Website
- koofr.eu
- Free trial
- No
- Money-back guarantee
- Not recorded
- storage
- Free 10 GB; paid tiers of 100 GB, 250 GB, 500 GB, 1 TB, 2.5 TB, 5 TB and 10 TB+, plus two smaller Briefcase tiers
- free tier
- "Free" plan with 10 GB
- data region
- The pricing page does not name the data-centre location
- version history
- File retention of 7 days on the free plan and 30 days on paid plans
- pricing unit sold
- per account
- end to end encryption
- "Koofr Vault" safe boxes provide encryption; the number of safe boxes varies by plan
In depth
Our Review
What This Service Is
European provider selling small, cheap yearly storage tiers with an optional encrypted vault.
A 10 GB free tier and yearly-only paid plans that start at €2 a month for 100 GB.
Price, Unit and Refunds
Prices read on 2026-09-05:
- Briefcase L 100 GB (yearly) — €2 per month. "€2.00" per month, billed yearly; 100 GB. All prices include 22% VAT and "Currently only yearly subscriptions are possible".
- Suitcase XL 250 GB (yearly) — €4 per month. "€4.00" per month, billed yearly; 250 GB, VAT included.
- Suitcase XL+ 500 GB (yearly) — €7 per month. "€7.00" per month, billed yearly; 500 GB, VAT included.
- Suitcase XXL 1 TB (yearly) — €10 per month. "€10.00" per month, billed yearly; 1 TB, VAT included.
- Crate XXXL 2.5 TB (yearly) — €20 per month. "€20.00" per month, billed yearly; 2.5 TB, VAT included.
This service is sold per account, which matters when comparing it with the others: a per-person or per-computer price multiplies with the household.
No money-back window is stated on the plan page.
Encryption, Audits and Jurisdiction
End-to-end encryption: optional — "Koofr Vault" safe boxes provide encryption; the number of safe boxes varies by plan
Encryption at rest: not stated as a specific algorithm.
Independent verification: no auditor, certification or public source code is named on the pages we read.
Data region: The pricing page does not name the data-centre location
Jurisdiction: not stated.
Recovery, Free Tier and Clients
Version history: File retention of 7 days on the free plan and 30 days on paid plans.
Free tier: "Free" plan with 10 GB.
Clients: Mobile apps, desktop apps and a browser extension are mentioned without a version list
What We Could Verify and What Remains Unknown
Verified on 2026-09-05 from: Koofr pricing, Koofr privacy policy.
Still unknown after reading those pages: data-centre location; jurisdiction; money-back guarantee; platform version requirements; smaller briefcase tier sizes. We leave those blank rather than filling them in from a review site.
Choosing the Right Plan
Koofr separates a 10 GB free allowance from its paid capacity ladder. Paid subscriptions on the captured page are annual, even though the advertised rates are written per month. That combination is easy to misread if you compare only the large price number.
The page uses euros, not a confirmed US-dollar billing price. The Briefcase S rate was EUR0.50 per month, with yearly subscription terms; no annual invoice total was captured or calculated here. Check the named storage tier and any encrypted-vault requirements separately, rather than assuming that all account storage has identical features.
Official product and plan information (koofr.eu). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.
Alternatives
If Koofr Is Not the One
500 GB for $49.99 a year with a choice of European or US data region and an optional zero-knowledge layer.
pCloud publishes named certifications or an independent audit.
Zero-knowledge and post-quantum encryption from a GDPR-based provider, audited by Securitum.
Internxt encrypts on the device before upload, so the provider cannot read the files.
Sync.com encrypts on the device before upload, so the provider cannot read the files.
100 GB with a 5 GB file-size limit and built-in Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace integration.
Box publishes no price on its plan page, which is itself worth knowing before you compare.
Head to head
Compare It Directly
Vendor
More from Koofr
No verified data available for other vendor products.
This section is retained. Information has not been supplied or verified; no facts have been invented.
Vendor documentation 7 documentskoofr.eu
These documents come from the vendor, not independent reviews. Multiple pages from one website are not multiple endorsements.
- official pricingKoofr pricing(koofr.eu)· factVerified Sep 5, 2026
- official documentationfeatures page (discovered)(koofr.eu)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationsupport page (discovered)(koofr.eu)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationterms page (discovered)(koofr.eu)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationsecurity page (discovered)(koofr.eu)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationprivacy page (discovered)(koofr.eu)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationKoofr privacy policy(koofr.eu)· factVerified Sep 6, 2026
Appears in: Best Free Cloud Storage (2026) (#2), Best Private Cloud Storage (2026) (#4), Best Cloud Storage (2026) (#5), Best Value Cloud Storage (2026) (#4)


