Top10SV
Dropbox Plus logo

Dropbox

Dropbox Plus

2 TB with 30 days of file recovery and published SOC and GDPR compliance, at $9.99 a month.

Best for the Default Sync ClientSee pricingVerified Sep 5, 2026dropbox.com

5.7

Basic · editorial score

Visit site
Product view Official imagery
Official Dropbox Plus visual from the vendor website
Dropbox Plus · Vendor-presented visual; it is not a Top10SV hands-on test or customer review. Image source
Published Sep 6, 2026Updated Sep 10, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site. It never changes a product's score. How we make money

Summary

Dropbox Plus Review (2026): The Price, the Encryption Model and How Far Back You Can Recover

2 TB with 30 days of file recovery and published SOC and GDPR compliance, at $9.99 a month.

This review is documentation-based: every figure was read on Dropbox's own pages on 2026-09-05. We did not measure upload or download speed.

Buying guide

Product and Plan Guidance

US file-sync company whose consumer plan sells 2 TB with published compliance certifications.

Choosing the Right Plan

Dropbox Plus is a one-person storage plan with 2 TB, connections across devices and a 30-day window for restoring deleted files. Its transfer feature allows files up to 50 GB. Those limits distinguish everyday storage, recovery and outbound transfers: buying enough space does not remove every limit on sharing.

A fresh September 10 visit returned an Australian-dollar annual storefront, rather than a confirmed US monthly offer. No new US price is asserted here. Compare Plus with a one-person Microsoft plan on a matching currency and billing term; an annual cost obtained by multiplying a monthly-looking display is not necessarily an available annual offer.

Official product and plan information (dropbox.com). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.

A closer look

Inside Dropbox Plus

At a glance

Pros and Cons

What we liked

  • Publishes SOC 1/2/3, GDPR and HIPAA support, which most consumer rivals here do not
  • Dropbox Rewind can roll an entire folder or account back after a ransomware event
  • Transfers up to 50 GB and unlimited linked devices
  • A free 2 GB tier makes the client easy to test

What we did not

  • No client-side encryption: Dropbox holds the keys to the files at rest
  • $9.99 a month for 2 TB is roughly double the per-terabyte price of the cheapest providers here
  • No yearly price is published on the plans page, so the annual discount is unknown
  • The free tier is only 2 GB

Community

User Reviews & Ratings

Customer feedback is separate from our editorial assessment and vendor documentation.

Ratings by Source

No verified rating or review count is available for Dropbox Plus yet.

Trustpilot and other platform scores will appear separately when recorded. Not available does not mean zero reviews.

Community Reviews

No original community posts are linked for this product yet.

Vendor documentation is not customer feedback.

Pricing

Dropbox Plus Pricing

Prices use the recorded currency and billing period. Monthly equivalents appear only when recorded; these are not live quotes.

  • Plus 2 TB (monthly)

    Historical USD9.99/month observation for Dropbox Plus, one person with2TB,30-day recovery and transfers up to50GB. A later official-page capture served an AUD annual offer; it neither verifies this old US price nor proves it invalid. Retain the original observation date. No annual commitment or new USD price is inferred.

    $9.99/month

    $9.99 per month

    Verified Sep 5, 2026

Features

What You Get

  • End-to-end encryptionNo

    The security page describes encryption in transit and at rest but does not state client-side encryption

  • Storage at the compared tier2,000 GB

    Plus 2 TB; the free Basic tier is 2 GB

  • Version history30 days

    "30 days" of file recovery and version history; Dropbox Rewind can roll back a folder or account

  • Independently audited or certifiedYes

    "SOC 1, 2, and 3 compliance reports", "GDPR compliant" and "support for HIPAA compliance"; ISO 27001 is not stated on the page

  • Data region statedNot verified
  • JurisdictionUnited States
  • Free tier2 GB
  • Money-back windowNot verified
  • Pricing unitper account
  • PlatformsNot verified

Specifications

Key Facts

Vendor
Dropbox
Website
dropbox.com
Money-back guarantee
Not recorded
storage
Plus 2 TB; the free Basic tier is 2 GB
jurisdiction
United States
transfer limits
File transfers "up to 50 GB"; linked devices are "Unlimited"
version history
"30 days" of file recovery and version history; Dropbox Rewind can roll back a folder or account
pricing unit sold
per account
encryption at rest
"256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)" at rest and "Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) and Transport Layer Security (TLS)" in transit
end to end encryption
The security page describes encryption in transit and at rest but does not state client-side encryption
independent verification
"SOC 1, 2, and 3 compliance reports", "GDPR compliant" and "support for HIPAA compliance"; ISO 27001 is not stated on the page
Source notes & verification limits
Image source
Official navigation brand mark https://fjord.dropboxstatic.com/warp/conversion/dropbox/warp/icons/Dropbox-logo-nav.svg served on dropbox.com (read 2026-09-06)

In depth

Our Review

What This Service Is

US file-sync company whose consumer plan sells 2 TB with published compliance certifications.

2 TB with 30 days of file recovery and published SOC and GDPR compliance, at $9.99 a month.

Price, Unit and Refunds

Dropbox Plus is a one-person storage plan with 2 TB, connections across devices and a 30-day window for restoring deleted files. Its transfer feature allows files up to 50 GB. Those limits distinguish everyday storage, recovery and outbound transfers: buying enough space does not remove every limit on sharing.

A fresh September 10 visit returned an Australian-dollar annual storefront, rather than a confirmed US monthly offer. No new US price is asserted here. Compare Plus with a one-person Microsoft plan on a matching currency and billing term; an annual cost obtained by multiplying a monthly-looking display is not necessarily an available annual offer.

Official product and plan information (dropbox.com). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.

Encryption, Audits and Jurisdiction

End-to-end encryption: no — The security page describes encryption in transit and at rest but does not state client-side encryption

Encryption at rest: "256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)" at rest and "Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) and Transport Layer Security (TLS)" in transit.

Independent verification: "SOC 1, 2, and 3 compliance reports", "GDPR compliant" and "support for HIPAA compliance"; ISO 27001 is not stated on the page.

Data region: not stated.

Jurisdiction: United States.

Recovery, Free Tier and Clients

Version history: "30 days" of file recovery and version history; Dropbox Rewind can roll back a folder or account.

Free tier: 2 GB.

Clients: not listed on the plan page.

Transfer limits: File transfers "up to 50 GB"; linked devices are "Unlimited".

What We Could Verify and What Remains Unknown

Verified on 2026-09-05 from: Dropbox plans, Dropbox security, Dropbox privacy policy.

Still unknown after reading those pages: yearly price; family plan; data-centre region; iso 27001. We leave those blank rather than filling them in from a review site.

Alternatives

If Dropbox Plus Is Not the One

Microsoft 365 Personal (OneDrive) logo
Microsoft 365 Personal (OneDrive)

1 TB of OneDrive plus the desktop Office apps for $99.99 a year — or 6 TB across six people for $129.99.

3.4

Microsoft documents storage bundled with the office applications.

$99.99/year
Sync.com logo
Sync.com

1 TB of end-to-end encrypted storage for $6 a month with 90 days of file history.

6.8

Sync.com encrypts on the device before upload, so the provider cannot read the files.

$3.50/month
pCloud logo
pCloud

500 GB for $49.99 a year with a choice of European or US data region and an optional zero-knowledge layer.

6.3

pCloud publishes named certifications or an independent audit.

$49.99/year
BP
Box Personal Pro

100 GB with a 5 GB file-size limit and built-in Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace integration.

2.6

Box publishes no price on its plan page, which is itself worth knowing before you compare.

See pricing

Head to head

Compare It Directly

Vendor

More from Dropbox

No verified data available for other vendor products.

This section is retained. Information has not been supplied or verified; no facts have been invented.

Vendor documentation 5 documentsdropbox.com

These documents come from the vendor, not independent reviews. Multiple pages from one website are not multiple endorsements.

  • official pricingDropbox plans(dropbox.com)· factVerified Sep 5, 2026
  • official documentationfeatures page (discovered)(dropbox.com)Verified Sep 6, 2026
  • official documentationDropbox security(dropbox.com)· factVerified Sep 5, 2026
  • official documentationterms page (discovered)(dropbox.com)Verified Sep 6, 2026
  • official documentationDropbox privacy policy(dropbox.com)· factVerified Sep 6, 2026

Appears in: Best Free Cloud Storage (2026) (#4), Best Cloud Storage (2026) (#7), Best Value Cloud Storage (2026) (#5)

Dropbox Plus

Editorial score 5.7/10

Visit site