Summary
Shopify Review (2026): The Price, the Term and What the Entry Plan Actually Includes
A commerce-first builder from $19/month on a yearly plan, with the third-party payment fee falling from 2% to 0.2%.
This review is documentation-based: every figure was read on Shopify's own plan page on 2026-09-05. We did not build a production site on the platform.
Buying guide
Product and Plan Guidance
Canadian commerce platform selling hosted online stores with a published third-party payment fee ladder.
Choosing the Right Plan
Shopify's commercial model separates the plan subscription, payment-processing charges and a possible fee for using a third-party payment provider. Those are different costs. The pricing page checked on September 10 does show processing rates, so an absence of a rate in an earlier capture should not be presented as a continuing fact.
The listed third-party-provider percentages vary by plan and are not the same thing as the card-processing rate. Match the store's country, payment method and named plan before calculating a total. Earlier captured subscription prices were not established as comparable US offers, so this update does not turn them into new numerical plan fields.
Official product and plan information (shopify.com). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.
A closer look
Inside Shopify
At a glance
Pros and Cons
What we liked
- The third-party payment fee is published for every tier and falls to 0.2% on Plus
- Staff accounts and inventory locations are stated per plan
- Ten inventory locations are included even on the entry plan
- Three days free followed by $1/month for three months
What we did not
- The Basic plan includes zero staff accounts
- The online credit-card rate — the fee most stores actually pay — is not in the plan table
- Prices step up steeply: Advanced is fifteen times Basic
- This is a commerce platform, so a plain content site pays for machinery it will not use
Community
User Reviews & Ratings
Customer feedback is separate from our editorial assessment and vendor documentation.
Ratings by Source
No verified rating or review count is available for Shopify yet.
Trustpilot and other platform scores will appear separately when recorded. Not available does not mean zero reviews.
Community Reviews
No original community posts are linked for this product yet.
Vendor documentation is not customer feedback.
Pricing
Shopify Pricing
Prices use the recorded currency and billing period. Monthly equivalents appear only when recorded; these are not live quotes.
Basic (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$19" per month billed yearly ("$25" billed monthly); 0 staff accounts, 10 inventory locations, 2% fee when not using Shopify Payments.
$19/month
$19 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Grow (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$49" per month billed yearly ("$65" billed monthly); 5 staff accounts, 10 locations, 1% third-party payment fee.
$49/month
$49 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Advanced (yearly)
Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$299" per month billed yearly ("$399" billed monthly); 15 staff accounts, 10 locations, 0.6% third-party payment fee.
$299/month
$299 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026Plus (monthly)
Historical Shopify Plus quote: from USD2300/month; unlimited staff accounts,200 inventory locations and0.2% third-party payment fee as recorded. A separate annual offer was not captured. Confirm current contracted term and store/payment conditions; absence of an annual figure is not evidence of annual billing. Original observation date retained.
$2,300/month
$2,300 per month
Verified Sep 5, 2026
Features
What You Get
- Entry price per month19 USD/month
"$19" per month on the Basic plan when paying yearly; "$25" when paying monthly
- Free custom domainNot verified
- Free planNo
"3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months"
- Storage on the entry planNot verified
- BandwidthNot verified
- Ecommerce includedYes
Every plan is an online store; the plans differ by staff accounts, locations and fees
- Transaction fee on the entry plan2%
Additional fee when not using Shopify Payments: 2% (Basic), 1% (Grow), 0.6% (Advanced), 0.2% (Plus). The online credit-card rate itself is not stated in the plan table
- Money-back windowNot verified
- Renewal price publishedNot verified
- Free trial3 days
"3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months"
Specifications
Key Facts
- Vendor
- Shopify
- Website
- shopify.com
- Free trial
- 3 days
- Money-back guarantee
- Not recorded
- ecommerce
- Every plan is an online store; the plans differ by staff accounts, locations and fees
- free plan
- "3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months"
- entry price
- "$19" per month on the Basic plan when paying yearly; "$25" when paying monthly
- contributors
- Staff accounts: 0 on Basic, 5 on Grow, 15 on Advanced, unlimited on Plus
- transaction fees
- Additional fee when not using Shopify Payments: 2% (Basic), 1% (Grow), 0.6% (Advanced), 0.2% (Plus). The online credit-card rate itself is not stated in the plan table
In depth
Our Review
What This Builder Is
Canadian commerce platform selling hosted online stores with a published third-party payment fee ladder.
A commerce-first builder from $19/month on a yearly plan, with the third-party payment fee falling from 2% to 0.2%.
Price and the Term It Requires
Shopify's commercial model separates the plan subscription, payment-processing charges and a possible fee for using a third-party payment provider. Those are different costs. The pricing page checked on September 10 does show processing rates, so an absence of a rate in an earlier capture should not be presented as a continuing fact.
The listed third-party-provider percentages vary by plan and are not the same thing as the card-processing rate. Match the store's country, payment method and named plan before calculating a total. Earlier captured subscription prices were not established as comparable US offers, so this update does not turn them into new numerical plan fields.
Official product and plan information (shopify.com). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.
What the Plan Includes
Custom domain: not stated as included on the plan page.
Storage: not published on the plan page.
Bandwidth: not published on the plan page.
Free plan: "3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months"
Ecommerce: Every plan is an online store; the plans differ by staff accounts, locations and fees.
Transaction fees: Additional fee when not using Shopify Payments: 2% (Basic), 1% (Grow), 0.6% (Advanced), 0.2% (Plus). The online credit-card rate itself is not stated in the plan table.
Limits and Team Access
Page limit: none stated on the plan page.
CMS items: none stated on the plan page.
Contributors or seats: Staff accounts: 0 on Basic, 5 on Grow, 15 on Advanced, unlimited on Plus.
Free trial: 3 days.
What We Could Verify and What Remains Unknown
Verified on 2026-09-05 from: Shopify pricing, Shopify privacy policy.
Still unknown after reading those pages: online credit-card rate; storage allowance; free domain; money-back policy. We leave those blank rather than filling them in from a review site.
Practical Checks Before Choosing
Shopify combines storefront publishing with an administration workspace for products, orders and customers. Budget beyond the headline subscription when paid themes, apps, external payment gateways or specialist fulfilment services are needed. The admin and storefront are different interfaces; a storefront example is not the merchant dashboard. Before selecting a plan, map a complete order journey: product variants, taxes, shipping, payment, returns and fulfilment. This is a documentation-based evaluation, not a transaction or conversion test conducted by Top10SV.
Official source (help.shopify.com). Observed September 11, 2026. Documentation-based guidance, not hands-on test results.
Alternatives
If Shopify Is Not the One
Unlimited bandwidth and a free domain on every plan, with transaction fees that fall to zero above the entry tier.
Squarespace publishes its transaction-fee ladder, so the cost of selling is knowable in advance.
Wix has a permanently free tier, so the platform can be tried before any payment.
Weebly has a permanently free tier, so the platform can be tried before any payment.
Hosted WordPress from $4/month with plugins and themes unlocked on every paid plan.
Automattic has a permanently free tier, so the platform can be tried before any payment.
Head to head
Compare It Directly
Vendor
More from Shopify
No verified data available for other vendor products.
This section is retained. Information has not been supplied or verified; no facts have been invented.
Vendor documentation 4 documentsshopify.com
These documents come from the vendor, not independent reviews. Multiple pages from one website are not multiple endorsements.
- official pricingShopify pricing(shopify.com)· factVerified Sep 5, 2026
- official documentationfeatures page (discovered)(shopify.com)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationterms page (discovered)(shopify.com)Verified Sep 6, 2026
- official documentationShopify privacy policy(shopify.com)· factVerified Sep 6, 2026
Appears in: Best Cheap Website Builder (2026) (#7), Best Website Builder for Beginners (2026) (#8), Best Website Builder for Online Stores (2026) (#6), Best Website Builders (2026) (#8)


