Top10SV
WO

Automattic

WordPress.com

Hosted WordPress from $4/month with plugins and themes unlocked on every paid plan.

Best for Hosted WordPress with Unrestricted Bandwidth$4/monthVerified Sep 5, 2026wordpress.com

6.5

Basic · editorial score

Visit site
Product view Official imagery
WordPress editor List View showing the blocks used in a page or post
WordPress.com · Official vendor interface visual; features and appearance may vary by edition. Not Top10SV testing. Image source
Published Sep 6, 2026Updated Sep 11, 2026

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site. It never changes a product's score. How we make money

Summary

WordPress.com Review (2026): The Price, the Term and What the Entry Plan Actually Includes

Hosted WordPress from $4/month with plugins and themes unlocked on every paid plan.

This review is documentation-based: every figure was read on Automattic's own plan page on 2026-09-05. We did not build a production site on the platform.

Buying guide

Product and Plan Guidance

Company behind WordPress.com, offering hosted WordPress with a storage-based plan ladder.

Choosing the Right Plan

WordPress.com's standard payment fees follow the selected plan: Free 10%, Personal 8%, Premium 4%, Business 2% and Commerce 0%, in addition to processor charges. This is a fee for the supported standard-payment workflow, not a statement that every payment integration has the same cost.

For a creator selling access or subscriptions, that distinction belongs beside the plan price. WooCommerce and other payment setups need their own applicable terms. The old statement that WordPress.com publishes no transaction fee is incorrect; a zero platform percentage also does not mean card processing is free.

Official product and plan information (wordpress.com). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.

A closer look

Inside WordPress.com

At a glance

Pros and Cons

What we liked

  • The cheapest paid entry among the general-purpose builders here at $4/month
  • Unrestricted bandwidth on every plan
  • Plugins and themes are available from the entry paid plan, so a site is not locked to one editor
  • Malware detection, a web application firewall and DDoS protection are included at no extra cost

What we did not

  • The free plan shows ads and keeps only seven days of statistics
  • Storage is modest below the Business plan (6 GB and 13 GB)
  • The refund window is not stated, only that a refund policy exists

Community

User Reviews & Ratings

Customer feedback is separate from our editorial assessment and vendor documentation.

Ratings by Source

No verified rating or review count is available for WordPress.com yet.

Trustpilot and other platform scores will appear separately when recorded. Not available does not mean zero reviews.

Community Reviews

No original community posts are linked for this product yet.

Vendor documentation is not customer feedback.

Pricing

WordPress.com Pricing

Prices use the recorded currency and billing period. Monthly equivalents appear only when recorded; these are not live quotes.

  • Personal (annual)

    Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$4" per month billed annually; 6 GB storage, free domain for year one, ads removed, plugins and themes available.

    $4/month

    $4 per month

    Verified Sep 5, 2026
  • Premium (annual)

    Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$8" per month billed annually; 13 GB storage, free domain for year one, ads removed.

    $8/month

    $8 per month

    Verified Sep 5, 2026
  • Business (annual)

    Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$25" per month billed annually; 50 GB storage, free domain for year one.

    $25/month

    $25 per month

    Verified Sep 5, 2026
  • Commerce (annual)

    Monthly-equivalent display rate on an annual commitment, not a month-to-month subscription. "$45" per month billed annually; 50 GB storage, the ecommerce tier.

    $45/month

    $45 per month

    Verified Sep 5, 2026

Features

What You Get

  • Entry price per month4 USD/month

    "$4" per month on the Personal plan when billed annually

  • Free custom domainYes

    A free domain for the first year from the Personal plan upwards

  • Free planYes

    A free plan with 1 GB storage, no custom domain, ads shown and 7-day statistics only

  • Storage on the entry plan6 GB

    Free 1 GB, Personal 6 GB, Premium 13 GB, Business 50 GB, Commerce 50 GB

  • BandwidthUnlimited

    "Unrestricted bandwidth" — "Reach as many visitors as you like, without extra fees or slowdowns"

  • Ecommerce includedYes

    The Commerce plan is the ecommerce tier

  • Transaction fee on the entry planNot verified
  • Money-back windowNot verified
  • Renewal price publishedNot verified
  • Free trialNot verified

Specifications

Key Facts

Website
wordpress.com
Money-back guarantee
Not recorded
storage
Free 1 GB, Personal 6 GB, Premium 13 GB, Business 50 GB, Commerce 50 GB
bandwidth
"Unrestricted bandwidth" — "Reach as many visitors as you like, without extra fees or slowdowns"
ecommerce
The Commerce plan is the ecommerce tier
free plan
A free plan with 1 GB storage, no custom domain, ads shown and 7-day statistics only
entry price
"$4" per month on the Personal plan when billed annually
free domain
A free domain for the first year from the Personal plan upwards

In depth

Our Review

What This Builder Is

Company behind WordPress.com, offering hosted WordPress with a storage-based plan ladder.

Hosted WordPress from $4/month with plugins and themes unlocked on every paid plan.

Price and the Term It Requires

Prices read on 2026-09-05:

  • Personal (annual) — $4 per month. "$4" per month billed annually; 6 GB storage, free domain for year one, ads removed, plugins and themes available.
  • Premium (annual) — $8 per month. "$8" per month billed annually; 13 GB storage, free domain for year one, ads removed.
  • Business (annual) — $25 per month. "$25" per month billed annually; 50 GB storage, free domain for year one.
  • Commerce (annual) — $45 per month. "$45" per month billed annually; 50 GB storage, the ecommerce tier.

The plan page does not print a separate renewal price; the advertised figure is what the vendor charges on the stated term.

No money-back window or trial is stated on the plan page.

What the Plan Includes

Custom domain: A free domain for the first year from the Personal plan upwards.

Storage: Free 1 GB, Personal 6 GB, Premium 13 GB, Business 50 GB, Commerce 50 GB.

Bandwidth: "Unrestricted bandwidth" — "Reach as many visitors as you like, without extra fees or slowdowns".

Free plan: A free plan with 1 GB storage, no custom domain, ads shown and 7-day statistics only.

Ecommerce: The Commerce plan is the ecommerce tier.

Standard Payments-block fees: Free10%, Personal8%, Premium4%, Business2%, Commerce0%, plus processor charges. Other payment integrations have separate terms.

Limits and Team Access

Page limit: none stated on the plan page.

CMS items: none stated on the plan page.

Contributors or seats: not stated.

Free trial: none stated.

What We Could Verify and What Remains Unknown

Verified on 2026-09-05 from: WordPress.com pricing, WordPress.com support centre.

Still unknown after reading those pages: refund window; visit limits. We leave those blank rather than filling them in from a review site.

Choosing the Right Plan

WordPress.com's standard payment fees follow the selected plan: Free 10%, Personal 8%, Premium 4%, Business 2% and Commerce 0%, in addition to processor charges. This is a fee for the supported standard-payment workflow, not a statement that every payment integration has the same cost.

For a creator selling access or subscriptions, that distinction belongs beside the plan price. WooCommerce and other payment setups need their own applicable terms. The old statement that WordPress.com publishes no transaction fee is incorrect; a zero platform percentage also does not mean card processing is free.

Official product and plan information (wordpress.com). Plan and product observations: September 10, 2026. Named editions and any market or billing limitations are stated above.

Practical Checks Before Choosing

WordPress.com is the hosted service, not the same purchase as downloading WordPress.org and arranging separate hosting. Its block editor's List View helps select nested blocks and understand a page's structure. For a real project, check the exact plan's plugin, domain, storage and commerce entitlements before buying. Also distinguish a platform transaction fee from payment-processing charges: those are not interchangeable. The linked editor guide and interface image explain the workflow; they are not evidence of a site built or benchmarked by Top10SV.

Official source (wordpress.com). Observed September 11, 2026. Documentation-based guidance, not hands-on test results.

Alternatives

If WordPress.com Is Not the One

Hostinger Website Builder logo
Hostinger Website Builder

The cheapest published entry here at $2.99/month — on a 48-month term that renews at $10.99/month.

6.1

Hostinger prints both prices: $2.99 a month on the advertised term and the renewal rate next to it.

$2.99/month
WI
Wix

A storage ladder from 2 GB to unlimited, with a free domain for a year on every paid plan.

4.2

Wix has a permanently free tier, so the platform can be tried before any payment.

SQ
Squarespace

Unlimited bandwidth and a free domain on every plan, with transaction fees that fall to zero above the entry tier.

4.0

Squarespace publishes its transaction-fee ladder, so the cost of selling is knowable in advance.

Weebly logo
Weebly

A free tier that already sells products, with ads removed from $15/month.

3.9

Weebly has a permanently free tier, so the platform can be tried before any payment.

Head to head

Compare It Directly

Vendor

More from Automattic

No verified data available for other vendor products.

This section is retained. Information has not been supplied or verified; no facts have been invented.

Vendor documentation 4 documentswordpress.com · automattic.com

These documents come from the vendor, not independent reviews. Multiple pages from one website are not multiple endorsements.

  • official pricingWordPress.com pricing(wordpress.com)· factVerified Sep 5, 2026
  • official documentationprivacy page (discovered)(automattic.com)Verified Sep 6, 2026
  • official documentationterms page (discovered)(automattic.com)Verified Sep 6, 2026
  • official documentationWordPress.com support centre(wordpress.com)· factVerified Sep 6, 2026

Appears in: Best Website Builder for Portfolios and Small Sites (2026) (#1), Best Cheap Website Builder (2026) (#1), Best Website Builder for Online Stores (2026) (#1), Best Website Builder for Beginners (2026) (#1), Best Website Builders (2026) (#1)

WordPress.com

Editorial score 6.5/10

Visit site